LSDLDOOM-PS2 : Another flavour of Doom for the PS2

Suddently, it seems Doom is popular on the PS2 for the second time. This is the second public port to reach the console, and this time, it has sound !

All credits goes to Jason Yu for making this possible. Check this thread : http://forums.ps2dev.org/viewtopic.php?t=9798

So, Lukasz also did a fine job and wrapped it with the shareware doom WAD file, so from >here< you can get a full contained version (one ELF file only) bundled with the shareware WAD.

However I decided to take the source and do some simple changes.

Get if here :

lsdldoom-ps2_v001.rar

First, I’ve got rid of that flickering interlaced screen mode and fixed the aspect ratio to match the original from the PC version, as I did for the other Doom port.

Secondly, I did nothing to the Yu’s sources 🙂 That it, those already supported loading from USB storage, so you can take my modified version, put on a USB pen along with the included boomlump.wad file and finally add a Doom WAD of your choice : doom.wad, doom1.wad, doom2.wad, doomu.wad, plutonia.wad, tnt.wad and doom2f.wad seems to be supported. Remember to put both the WAD files on the root of the USB device, otherwise it will not load. Just a comment : It seems there is an issue with the USB data fetching causing a hang-up. It shows often during the recorded play behind the menu at start, so begin a new game as soon as possible! 🙂 I really don’t know if it’s a bug of this port, but I strongly suspect it may be due to the concorrency of the audio playing routines and USB driver, since both uses the IOP and the PS2 is not very multi-tasking as you may know.

Anyway, this is only a small update to the excellent work of Jason Yu. There is room for a lot of improvements, such as better controls, a WAD selector, and a way to select weapons of course. Speaking of controls, from the menu select the READ ME to view the currently mapped joypad buttons.

What I plan now : apply the sound sources to the Lukasz port. Let’s see how things progress – it might be more complicated than I’m hoping.

Tags: ,

12 Responses to “LSDLDOOM-PS2 : Another flavour of Doom for the PS2”

  1. Slug Says:

    yours port lsdldoom-ps2_v001.ELF on the USB device not working. 😦
    USB root: shareware doom1.WAD, doom.wad, doom1.wad, doom2.wad, plutonia.wad, tnt.wad not working 😦
    I I am doing perhaps something badly?

    http://lukasz.dk/files/lsdldoom-ps2-bin.zip: DOOM.ELF and DOOMP.ELF on the USB device and HDD works perfect.
    only the sound is bad 😦

    I am sorry my English is very bad 😦

  2. Pedro Duarte Says:

    Oops, I forget to include a required file (boomlump.wad) which is bundled in the Lukasz release.

    Put this file along with your WAD file and the doom.elf so now it should work.
    Beware that due to the reasons I pointed earlier, the recorded demo played at first may crash, so please start a new game as soon as possible when the menu appears.

    I updated the link, so please download it again.

  3. Slug Says:

    Good work 🙂 🙂 ::)):

    ThAnkS 😀

  4. Dr. Mario Kart Says:

    I was wondering if you could port Wolfenstein 3D to PS2

  5. pedroduarte0 Says:

    I never thought in doing that, but it could be a nice things. But not for the near future, but I may do it later. First I would like to improve the current Doom to get rid of bugs.

  6. Dr. Mario Kart Says:

    keyboard support would be nice 😀 seeing as i recently bought a usb keyboard just to see if it would work (but didn’t) and possible saves to memcard, usb or harddrive

  7. Pedro Duarte Says:

    Yes, I tried to add keyboard support but there something I’m missing about how the driver works. I haven’t got feedback from the sdk gurus, so I left this issue on halt and started doing some other stuff.

    I haven’t got much free time for homebrew but I didn’t forgot the Doom port and the nasty bug when using a registered WAD… Be patient (or contribute 🙂 )

  8. Ronald Andersson Says:

    I’m not sure if you’re still interested in adding keyboard support to the Doom ports, but if you are I would suggest looking at the source of existing applications that do use the keyboard, instead of waiting for ‘guru’ advice.

    One good example of such an application is the uLaunchELF project that I am involved with myself, as one of its coauthors. This is a fully open-source project, and you are welcome to ‘borrow’ code snippets from it if you like.

    Best regards: Ronald Andersson (aka: dlanor)

    • pedroduarte0 Says:

      Hello Ronald,

      Well, to say the truth, I forgot I once wanted to add keyboard support But eventually I look at it in the future, once I have the sound working. Thanks for your hint, although adding “direct” support for keyboard might mean having to remove it at SDL level, since SDL supports it… And I would prefer not to modify the SDL. Anyway, eventually I’ll investigate this more carefully later.

      I’m been experimenting with GDB for having basic debugging and it works, although being very slow and with some limitations. But it’s great to check program flow. Adding sound support from prboom+ to Lukasz port or evern Jason Yu sound routines is the way to go for now and I’m almost there (hope so).

  9. KWF Says:

    Hello, I’m using a usb drive to play Doom on my PS2 through Action Replay Max Drive. If you could help me with this, that would be great.

  10. More About 918 Says:

    More About 918

    LSDLDOOM-PS2 : Another flavour of Doom for the PS2 | PS2 Homebrewing

Leave a comment